cleaning out the fridge again – spinach and potatoes

as I had a burger (naked as I am still trying to not eat wheat products as I am feeling much better since I limit them to a minimum) for lunch today, I felt like some no meat dinner. luckily, there was a bag of spinach sitting in my fridge just waiting to be cooked. and usually, potatoes are always available in my pantry. in the end, I’m german 🙂

imageI cut the potatoes up in more or less same-sized pieces, tossed them with about two table spoons of olive oil, some salt, freshly ground lemon pepper (I love the one from trader joe’s), a good amount of cayenne (I like it spicy) and some paprika (for the color), mixed everything well together and spread the potatoes out on a baking sheet covered with baking paper. I had the oven pre-heated to 350 degrees and baked them for about 25 min. after ten minutes, I turned them to get a nice crunch all over.

while the potatoes were roasting, I prepared the spinach. I heated some sunflower oil (I like that very much as it is very neutral in taste and healthier than canola or veggie oil) in a large skillet, tossed in the spinach and let it cook for about one minute. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and ground nutmeg and turned it over with a spatula. right before the spinach was cooked, I added one finely chopped garlic clove for some extra taste and mixed it through. then I turned off the stove and covered it with a lid until the potatoes were ready.

Leave a comment